



Cannes 2016 - The Carrosse d'Or Prize goes to *** AKI KAURISMÄKI ***

THE CARROSSE D'OR PRIZE HAS BEEN AWARDED SINCE 2002 BY THE FILMMAKERS OF THE SRF TO HONOR ONE OF THEIR OWN DURING CANNES FILM FESTIVAL. THE RECIPIENT IS CHOSEN FROM THE INTERNATIONAL FILMMAKING COMMUNITY FOR THE INNOVATIVE QUALITIES, COURAGE AND INDEPENDENT-MINDEDNESS OF HIS OR HER WORK. IN 2016, THE SRF IS AWARDING THIS PRIZE TO FINNISH DIRECTOR AKI KAURISMÄKI.

« Your stories are inspired fables telling tales of the forgotten, those fallen through cracks, those who are extreme, and those who have no user manual.

You film, without exception, economically, with precision and grandeur, without ever giving up on fiction, poetry or even the burlesque

By featuring these characters you give them a place, and you save them, because those whose stories are not told, do not exist.

Your films are often melancholy but never devastating. They always end by finding a firework to light up the darkest nights and the most sombre inclinations.

Alcohol, love, friendship, gifts or chance sometimes save your characters from boredom, despair, or death as your films save the audience from too much normality.

For all of this, for the languor and insolence of your films, for their healthy and calm subversion, we would like to honour you at the same moment as the greatest cinephile event in the world.»

Extract of the letter sent to Aki Kaurismäki by the SRF board of directors: Luc Battiston, Stéphane Brizé, Thomas Cailley, Laurent Cantet, Malik Chibane, Catherine Corsini, François Farellacci, Léa Fehner, Pascale Ferran, Denis Gheerbrant, Fabienne Godet, Stéphanie Kalfon, Cédric Klapisch, Héléna Klotz, Thomas Lilti, Paul Marques Duarte, Anna Novion, Katell Quillévéré, Christophe Ruggia, Pierre Salvadori, Céline Sciamma, Jan Sitta.

sponsored by CANAL + CINEMA for the 14th consecutive year





Previous Carrosse d'Or recipients:

2003 : Clint Eastwood 2004 : Nanni Moretti 2005 : Ousmane Sembene 2006 : David Cronenberg 2007 : Alain Cavalier 2008 : Jim Jarmusch 2009 : Naomi Kawase 2010 : Agnès Varda 2011 : Jafar Panahi 2012 : Nuri Bilge Ceylan 2013 : Jane Campion 2014 : Alain Resnais 2015 : Jia Zhangke

2002: Jacques Rozier

Press contact : Catherine Giraud

cgiraud@quinzaine-realisateurs.com /// Tél: +33 (6) 27 17 89 26

La SRF

Hélène Rosiaux-Communication officer hrosiaux@la-srf.fr /// Tél: +33 (1) 44 89 99 65